Special meeting AAUW of Virginia Board of Directors December 14, 2021 Held virtually via Zoom

Suzanne Rothwell and Leslie Tourigny, Co-Presidents, called a special meeting of the board for December 14, 2021, held virtually via Zoom.

A list of board members in attendance is attached (Enclosure 1).

The meeting was called to order at 7:04 p.m. by Co-President Tourigny.

Anita Aymer, Nominating Committee Chair, reviewed the challenge that the committee has had in recruiting candidates for the President or Co-President positions, due to the breadth of the responsibilities of the positions and to the requirement that the candidate have previous board service. Aymer presented a proposal to create a new appointed board position. This position would be an officer/director position, which does not require prior board tenure, with the title of "Administrator." The sole responsibility of the Administrator would be to assist the president in performing her duties.

This proposal complies with Article X, Section 1.b. of the Bylaws, which authorizes the Board to approve the establishment of "such other (appointed) officers as may be considered desirable and approved by the Board to carry out the work of the Affiliate."

MOTION:

Aymer moved: "that the Board approve a new appointed officer/director position with the title of 'Administrator.'" The motion carried. (Enclosure 2- vote count)

MOTION:

Caroline Pickens moved: "that a job description for the appointed administrator be presented to the board for approval at the January 11, 2022, board meeting." The motion carried. (Enclosure 2- vote count)

Co-President Tourigny adjourned the meeting at 7:49 p.m.

ENCLOSURE 1

Board members in attendance at AAUW-VA (virtual) board meeting December 14, 2021

Anita Aymer, Southwest District Representative
Kathy Batkin, Historian
Carol Dabbs, Bylaws/Resolutions Chair
Nadine James, Vice President for Program
Marsha Melkonian, Vice President for Finance
Tammie Mullins-Rice, Southeast District Representative
Denise Murden, Co-Vice President, Public Policy
Caroline Pickens, AAUW Funds Chair
Sylvia Rogers, Northwest District Representative
Suzanne Rothwell, Co-President
Cheryl Spohnholtz, Vice President for Membership
Leslie Tourigny, Co-President
Sherry Warren, Recording Secretary
Barbara Woodlee, College/University Chair